UK shipping questions

ChrisWakes
posted by ChrisWakes • 4 years ago

Hey!

Firstly, does anyone know if/how much I’ll be charged for VAT, import duties and taxes if I make an order to the UK? I’m a student and can not be dealing with too many extra costs!

Secondly, would you say it’s worth opting for FedEx International Priority shipping rather than FedEx International Mail? Obviously it’s much quicker but are there any other major advantages?

Thankyou :)

8 Replies

Inked Inked Human from California, United States

While I can’t give you details on potential charges I can point you in the right direction to help you figure it out on your own:

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/customs/post/internet.htm

A few things to note regarding international shipping:

1) International Priority is much faster and also much more expensive
2) international Priority will absolutely incur customs fees, VAT taxes etc. On top of that you will likely be charged an additional fee for FedEx “handling” the process of clearing your package.

Most customers do not opt for this level of service unless their package is simply very expensive and they want the peace of mind of being able to track the package from us to them or they simply really must have it immediately. Otherwise, the majority of our international customers select FedEx International Mail.

ChrisWakes ChrisWakes Human from United Kingdom

@Inked Thankyou. I’ll opt for the International Mail. I’ve been reading through the provided link and it states that the supplier must complete an accurate Customs Declaration, do you have this? And if so where is it?

Customs Declarations are generated automatically when the package is being processed.

For FedEx Priority International:
Countries which participate in FedEx EDI (Electronic Data Interchange) are transmitted customs documents electronically ahead of the package arriving. Go Paperless!

For FedEx International Mail: